Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee
ApplicationsOnline ServicesLaws & RegulationsBoard Actions
Consumer InformationLicensee InformationContact UsUseful Links
Continuing Education Sponsor Overview
The Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm & Locksmith Advisory Committee welcomes individuals, associations and businesses or organizations interested in sponsoring continuing education courses, seminars and programs.
Each Licensee is required to have completed 24 (hours) continuing education credits during the triennial cycle (September 1st, 2013 through August 31st, 2016) prior to renewal of licenses in 2016. The 24 hours is required for each license held - Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and/or Locksmith.
As part of this requirement, irrespective of the type pf Committee-issued license held, each licensee must complete two continuing education credits in each of the following mandatory subjects: Barrier Free Subcode; the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code; the Americans with Disabilities Act Code; Industrial Safety; New Jersey law and rules governing the provision of burglar alarm, fire alarm, and locksmith services. For individuals holding more than one Committee-issued license, these 10 mandatory credits will count towards the requirement of 24 credits for each license held. To illustrate, 24 credits, including the 10 mandatory credits, are required for the first license held. If an individual holds a second or third license, then 14 additional trade/business credits are required for each of those licenses. Thus, in the aggregate, a holder of a single license must earn 24 total credits, a holder of two licenses must earn 38 total credits, and a holder of three licenses must earn 52 total credits during the triennial cycle.
A Sponsor may be an individual, association, business, organization or a formulated group of individuals interested in sponsoring a course or group of courses for Licensees. Please note that pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.4 Fee Schedule, a sponsor is required to submit with his/her application a Continuing Education Sponsor Fee in the amount of $100.00. Your check or money order must be included with your application and should be made payable to the State of New Jersey. Whether you are seeking Committee approval for one (1) course or numerous courses, only one (1) check for $100.00 is required, but only IF you submit all of your courses for approval at the same time. Subsequent to approval as a Sponsor, should you come back to the Committee at any future date seeking approval for additional courses or, if there are changes to course content/length/instructor(s), you will be required to pay another Continuing Education Sponsor Fee ($100.00). Absent any changes as noted above, courses which have been approved do not have to be renewed or re-approved for subsequent triennial license cycles. This "ALL AT ONE-TIME SUBMISSION" concept is to encourage sponsors to submit everything at one time so that the Committee can review the entire package.
As a sponsor, you may be the sole instructor or you may have a list of instructors that will teach under your sponsorship. You may submit one course or multiple courses for approval; you must, of course, provide the number of instructional hours you will spend on each course, as well as who the instructor(s) will be for a particular course. The Sponsor, using the application, must provide a brief title for the course, a course outline and a resume for each instructor. Please be advised that the Committee does not permit a quiz/exam to be included in the course instructional hours and should not be a requirement in order for a licensee to receive a certificate of completion. Additionally, please do not request approval for any course of less than one hour in duration.
The courses submitted may fall within the following categories - Technical, including Lock Devices, Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm; Electronic Security; Safety, Laws & Codes and Business. If a course is for a specific trade, it should be so noted with BA (Burglar), FA (Fire) or LS (Locksmith).
Upon approval by a quorum of the Advisory Committee, a packet of information and associated forms is provided to the Sponsor contact named on the application. A listing of previously approved Sponsors and courses, along with more specific CE requirements for licensees, is available on this web site via the link entitled "Continuing Education for Renewal of Licenses". To avoid delay, please review your application and entire submission for completeness.
If you have considered teaching Continuing Education, why not start here? The CE Sponsor application and instructions are available via the "Application" link on the home page of this web site. The application and approval process are easy to complete. Should you have any questions, please call the Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee offices at (973) 504-6245 and we will be happy to assist you. You may also write to us at:
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Thank you for your interest in joining us as a Continuing Education Sponsor! We look forward to receiving your application soon.
|Contact UsPrivacy NoticeLegal StatementAccessibility Statement|
|DCA HomeComplaint Forms ProposalsAdoptionsContact DCA|
|OAG HomeContact OAGAbout OAGOAG NewsOAG FAQs|
|NJ HomeServices A to Z Departments/AgenciesFAQs|