Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Paula T. Dow,
Attorney General

Division of Consumer Affairs
Thomas R. Calcagni, Acting Director

   
For Immediate Release:
August 5, 2010
For Further Information Contact:
Jeff Lamm, 973-504-6327
 


New State Law Regulates Credit Card Offerings
Made on College and University Campuses

NEWARK – The Division of Consumer Affairs has mailed letters to all public and private college and university administrators in New Jersey, reminding them that a new state law requires credit card issuers to register with their institution before offering credit cards on campus to students.

The state’s Credit Card Solicitation Act, which took effect this May, also requires credit card issuers to provide an on-campus education program. The program must include an explanation of when any introductory interest rate expires and higher rates begin, how interest on unpaid balances is computed and how long it will take to pay off balances if only minimum monthly payments are made, among other information.

Gifts and other promotional incentives designed to entice students to apply for a credit card are prohibited, under this law.

“Easy credit may sound good to cash-strapped students but the downside can be a deep spiral into a whirlpool of debt, with no easy way out,” said Thomas R. Calcagni, Acting Director of the Division of Consumer Affairs. “This law will help students better understand what they are agreeing to before they sign on the dotted line.”

The Credit Card Solicitation Act also prohibits credit card issuers from taking any debt collection action against the parent or guardian of the student unless he/she has agreed in writing to be liable for the debts of the student.

Credit card issuers who violate provisions of this law are liable for civil penalties between $5,000 and $10,000 for each offense.

Consumers can report any suspected violations of the law to the Division of Consumer Affairs by filing an online complaint at http://www.nj.gov/oag/ca/ocp/ocpform.htm or by calling 1-800-242-5846 (toll-free within N.J.) or 973-504-6200.

###

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: