Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act

RULE PROPOSALS
VOLUME 44, ISSUE 12
ISSUE DATE: JUNE 18, 2012
LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND HAIRSTLING

44 N.J.R. 1763(a)




Proposed Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.7, 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, 2.5 through 2.15, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 6.1, 6.7, 6.15, 6.16, 6.20, 6.21, 6.23, 6.25, 6.27, 6.28, 6.29, 6.30, 6.31, 6.33, 6.34, and 6.36

Proposed New Rules: N.J.A.C. 13:28-1A, 6.29A, and 6.29B

Proposed Repeal: N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.26

Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling Rules

Authorized By: New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, Jay Malanga, Executive Director.

Authority: P.L. 2009, c. 162; N.J.S.A. 45:1-15.1 and 45:5B-6(r).

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of exception to the calendar requirement.

Proposal Number: PRN 2012-084.

Submit comments by August 17, 2012 to:
Jay Malanga, Executive Director
New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
124 Halsey Street
P.O. Box 45003
Newark, New Jersey 07101

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling (Board) is proposing various amendments to the rules set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28, as well as a repeal and three new rules, in response to the enactment of P.L. 2009, c. 162. P.L. 2009, c. 162, which amended various provisions of the Cosmetology and Hairstyling Act of 1984 (Act), N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq., to create a beauty culture license and a barbering license, authorized the Board to establish education and training requirements for the issuance of these new limited licenses.

Proposed new rules at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29A and 6.29B establish the course curriculum for beauty culture and barbering instruction, respectively, at licensed schools of cosmetology and hairstyling in New Jersey. Students seeking a beauty culture license must complete 1,100 hours of instruction, and students seeking a barbering license must complete 900 hours of instruction. The Board has determined that the proposed hours of instruction in the subject areas delineated in the proposed new rules are necessary to ensure that beauty culture and barbering students are appropriately trained to provide their respective services in a safe and sanitary manner.

The Board notes that although P.L. 2009, c. 162 authorized the Board to amend the hours of instruction necessary to obtain a plenary cosmetology and hairstyling license, as well as a manicuring license, and a skin care specialty license, the Board is not proposing any amendments to the total hours of instruction currently required for each of these licenses. The curriculum for the cosmetology and hairstyling course, set forth at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29, remains 1,200 hours; the curriculum for the manicuring course, set forth at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.33, remains 300 hours; and the curriculum for the skin care specialty course, set forth at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.34, remains 600 hours. The Board, however, is proposing amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29, 6.33, and 6.34 to change the number of hours of instruction required for specific subject areas delineated in the rules. The Board has determined that the proposed breakdown of hours for these courses of study will help ensure that the instruction students receive in the cosmetology and hairstyling, manicuring, and skin care specialty training courses is comprehensive and well-rounded, thus allowing the students to provide these services in a safe and sanitary manner once they become licensed.

The Board is proposing amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a) in order to clearly delineate the five practicing licenses now available from the Board and the types of services that licensees holding each license are authorized to provide, consistent with N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3, as amended by P.L. 2009, c. 162. The Board is proposing amendments to various sections of the rule to include a reference to all five practicing licenses--cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and skin care specialty--where appropriate. Subsection (b) is proposed for amendment to include reference to the number of hours each applicant is required to complete prior to licensure. The Board notes that the clarification as to the five practicing licenses--cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and skin care specialty--that are made in this section, are also proposed for amendment in numerous rules throughout Subchapters 2, 3, 4, and 6, in order to eliminate confusion with respect to the application of existing rules throughout the chapter to the practices of beauty culture and barbering, and to include references to the practices of manicuring and skin care specialty, where such references were inadvertently omitted during previous amendments to the rules. Furthermore, existing subsection (d) is proposed for deletion and new subsection (e) is proposed to address requirements for the educational program for applicants for licensure.

In addition to these clarifying amendments, the Board is proposing numerous substantive amendments to the rules in Chapter 28 in response to P.L. 2009, c. 162, and in order to address areas of concern among members of the regulated community. The Board is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.2, which pertains to the Board's licensure examination, to delete subsections (e) and (f). These subsections require applicants who have not passed both the theory and practical portions of the examination within a specified time period, or who have failed to sit for the examination within a specified period of time, to take a refresher course as outlined in N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.25. The Board has reconsidered this issue and has determined that requiring certain applicants to take a refresher course prior to being permitted to take the licensing examination, which imposes additional costs on these applicants, may be overly burdensome. The Board is also aware that refresher courses are not currently available for all courses of instruction, placing certain applicants in an untenable situation. Consistent with the proposed amendment to N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.2, the Board is also proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.25(a)3 and 4 to delete provisions of the rule that pertain to applicants who are administered refresher courses in order to meet the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.2(e) and (f). In addition, the Board is proposing to repeal existing N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.26, Postgraduate courses, because the courses contemplated under the rule are the same as the refresher courses proposed for deletion at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.25(a)3 and 4.

[page=1764] Proposed N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.3(b)1 has been amended to cross-reference N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29 through 6.34, which sets forth the requisite number of hours of training that an applicant for a student permit must complete.

N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.4(a) and (b) authorize a person who held both a barbering license and a beauty culture license to either practice or teach such disciplines, respectively, issued by the Board prior to the enactment of the Act, which became effective in 1985, to obtain a license to practice or to obtain a teaching license cosmetology and hairstyling, respectively. Proposed amendments to the rule clarify that the requirements in the rule apply only to this class of licensees. Applicants who held both practicing licenses before 1985 may continue to qualify for a teaching license or license to practice cosmetology and hairstyling under the requirements of the rule, because the Board has not concluded that the enactment of P.L. 2009, c. 162 was intended to impose additional requirements on these license holders. All other applicants desiring to obtain a teaching license, including those desiring to teach beauty culture and barbering, must meet the requirements set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.7.

N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.7(c)6 is amended to include a cross reference to N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.31. Proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.7(d) clarifies that the holder of a teaching license issued by the Board will authorize the holder to teach all five disciplines regulated by the Board.

The Board proposes new N.J.A.C. 13:28-1A, Definitions. The definitions contained in proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:28-1A.1 apply to terms that appear throughout the chapter.

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.1(a) and (b) delineate the five shop licenses available from the Board--cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and skin care specialty--and the types of services that may be offered at each shop, consistent with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3 of the Act, as amended by P.L. 2009, c. 162.

N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5 currently sets forth the physical requirements for cosmetology and hairstyling shops. The Board is proposing to amend the rule to make the requirements applicable to cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, and barbering shops, and to also require that barbering shops be equipped with at least one chair with an adjustable headrest suitable for performing shaving services. The Board is also proposing to delete the existing requirement at N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5(a)2iii that shops have a closed receptacle at each work station that allows soiled implements to be completely immersed in an enzyme solution. The Board has determined that the use of this receptacle is not necessary in light of the requirement at N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5(a)2iii that all shops utilize an ultrasonic unit for cleaning and disinfecting implements and tools. Similar amendments to delete the requirement that manicuring and skin care specialty shops have a closed receptacle at each work station for immersing soiled implements in an enzyme solution are also being proposed to N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.6(a)4, 2.6A(a)4, and 6.20(b)10. Manicuring and skin care specialty shops are also required to use an ultrasonic unit for cleaning and disinfecting implements and tools at N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.6(a)3 and 2.6A(a)3, respectively.

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5(d) would require cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, and barbering shops to post a notice advising consumers about their ability to file a complaint with the Board or with the Division of Consumer Affairs. This notice requirement, which currently exists for all licensed shops, other than manicuring shops and skin care specialty shops, is currently set forth at N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.12(b), and is proposed to be deleted from that rule.

Proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.6 and 2.6A delete the requirement relating to the retention of an experienced practicing licensee to oversee the management of manicuring and skin care specialty shops, respectively, because the Board is proposing to include this requirement in proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.13, discussed below. The Board is also proposing an amendment to the actual text of the notice contained in N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.6 and 2.6A that must be posted in both manicuring and skin care specialty shops, in order to include the Board's website address.

The Board is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.7(a), (b), and (c) and 2.10 to cross-reference N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a). These sections are also being amended to add the term "set forth" when referring to N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a), because the terms cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and skin care specialty services are defined in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(l), and a description of these services is set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a). The Board also proposes to delete N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.11(a)1 through 4 because a description of the same services is set forth in cross-referenced N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)5.

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.13(a) sets forth requirements for a shop's retention of an experienced practicing licensee, consistent with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 45:5B-11, as amended by section 9 of P.L. 2009, c. 162. For a cosmetology and hairstyling shop, the licensee must hold a cosmetology and hairstyling license and have three years of experience as a licensed cosmetologist-hairstylist. For a beauty culture shop, the licensee must hold either a cosmetology and hairstyling or beauty culture license, and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist or beautician. For a barbering shop, the licensee must hold either a cosmetology and hairstyling or barbering license and must have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist or barber. For a skin care specialty shop, the licensee must hold a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or skin care specialty license and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist, beautician, or skin care specialist. For a manicuring shop, the licensee must hold a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or manicurist license and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist, beautician, or manicurist.

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.13(b) states that a shop which satisfies the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.13(a), by employing a practicing licensee who holds a beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty license shall not employ senior students who have been issued a student permit pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.3, other than those being trained in the practice for which the practicing licensee holds a license, unless the shop also employs a practicing licensee who holds a cosmetology and hairstyling license, and has at least three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist.

Existing N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.13(b) and (c) are proposed for deletion as those regulations are now incorporated into new subsection (a). New subsection (e) requires that the name of the designated experienced practicing licensee shall be posted in a location clearly visible to all patrons, which requirement was deleted from the existing rule at subsections (a), (b), and (c). Additional amendments made throughout N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.13 delete redundant provisions, and clarify that shops licensed prior to 1985 may continue to utilize experienced practicing licensees as they have in the past.

The Board is proposing an amendment to N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.15(b), which delineates prohibited practices, to prohibit licensees and shops from offering a service that is commonly referred to as "fish pedicures," which entails the use of live fish to perform pedicure services as new paragraph (b)4. The Board had determined that this practice is unsanitary and that the proposed amendment is necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of New Jersey consumers seeking pedicure services.

The proposed deletion of N.J.A.C. 13:28-3.2(c)3 eliminates the requirement that shops maintain a disinfection log that records disinfection procedures taken for each pedicure tub in a shop. The Board has determined that the disinfection procedures set forth in this section are rigorous and will help ensure appropriate sanitization of the pedicure tubs, but that this recordkeeping requirement may be overly burdensome to licensees. The Board does not anticipate that the proposed deletion will have any impact on the sanitization standards established in the rule. The Board is also proposing to delete subsection (d), which requires that all shops offering pedicure services have a .2 micron filter installed on the incoming water line used to fill pedicure tubs by November 18, 2009. The Board has determined that installation of this filter may impose a significant cost on some licensed shops. In addition, the Board has determined that the use of this filter would not increase the consumer protections currently afforded by the existing pedicure tub sanitization standards imposed under N.J.A.C. 13:28-3.2.

The Board is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 13:28-3.4, which concerns prohibited products, to prohibit the use of styptic pencils by licensees, shops, and schools because the Board had determined that the use of such pencils is unsanitary. Proposed new subsection (b) provides that licensees, shops, and schools may use styptic liquid or powder, or other single-use antiseptic products.

[page=1765] The Board is proposing an amendment to N.J.A.C. 13:28-4.1(b), pertaining to premises inspections, which currently requires that all documents maintained pursuant to Chapter 28 to be available for immediate inspection and photocopying by the Board. Subsection (b) is proposed for amendment to now include that all documents, implements, tools, and products be available, not just for inspection and photocopying, but also for photographing.

The Board is proposing amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.20, which currently delineates the minimum equipment schools must provide to cosmetology and hairstyling, manicuring, and skin care specialty students, to also include provisions setting forth the minimum equipment that schools must provide to beauty culture and barbering students.

N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.21 establishes how schools may differentiate between junior and senior students based on the number of hours of course instruction students have completed. The rule currently exists for junior and senior cosmetology and hairstyling, manicuring, and skin care specialty students, and is proposed for amendment to establish comparable requirements for the classification of junior and senior beauty culture and barbering students.

N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.23, which establishes requirements for the employment of teachers based on the number of students enrolled in a cosmetology and hairstyling, manicuring, and skin care specialty course of study, is proposed for amendment to provide comparable teacher employment standards for beauty culture and barbering courses of study.

The Board is also proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.36, which sets forth the equipment that must be available in annex classrooms used for cosmetology and hairstyling, manicuring, and skin care instruction. The proposed amendments clarify that annex classrooms used for the instruction of beauty culture students must include the same equipment as annex classrooms used for cosmetology and hairstyling instruction, and also provides a separate list of equipment that must be available in annex classrooms used to instruct barber students.

The Board has provided a 60-day comment period on this notice of proposal. Therefore, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The Board anticipates that the proposed new rules at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29A and 6.29B will have a positive impact on applicants for licensure as beauticians and barbers by establishing a course of instruction for each discipline that will help ensure applicants are appropriately trained to provide such services. The Board also anticipates that the proposed amendments to the rules throughout the chapter will positively impact licensees, shop owners, and cosmetology and hairstyling schools, by clearly delineating the requirements applicable to practicing licensees, shop owners, and schools with respect to the practices of beauty culture and barbering. The Board also anticipates that the proposed amendments concerning prohibited practices and prohibited products at N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.15 and 3.3 will have a positive impact on New Jersey consumers by helping to ensure that the services provided in licensed shops are safe and are performed in a sanitary manner.

Economic Impact

The Board anticipates that the proposed new rules at N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29A and 6.29B, establishing an 1,100-hour course of study for a beauty culture license, and a 900-hour course of study for a barbering license, respectively, may have an economic impact upon applicants for practicing licenses as beauticians and barbers. The costs that applicants will incur to complete this training are difficult to ascertain with specificity, and will vary based on the costs established by licensed schools offering the training courses. The Board notes, however, that it anticipates that the costs to students enrolled in these courses will be less than the costs they would incur to enroll in the existing 1,200-hour cosmetology and hairstyling course of study. Applicants seeking licensure as beauticians and barbers, as well as applicants for beauty culture and barber shop licenses, may also incur costs associated with submitting required documentation to the Board. In addition, applicants for a beauty culture or barbering shop license may incur costs associated with satisfying the minimum physical shop requirements and equipment requirements delineated in the proposed amendments contained throughout Subchapter 2. The Board also anticipates that licensed schools of cosmetology and hairstyling will incur costs to meet the minimum equipment, facilities, and teacher staffing requirements associated with offering courses of instruction in beauty culture and barbering set forth in the proposed new rules and amendments contained in Subchapter 6. The Board has determined, however, that the costs to applicants, practicing licensees, shop license holders, and schools of cosmetology and hairstyling are outweighed by the benefit to protect the health, safety, and welfare of consumers seeking cosmetology and hairstyling services in the State.

Furthermore, the Board also anticipates that several of the proposed amendments contained in Chapter 28 will have a positive economic impact on applicants for licensure and on shop license holders. Specifically, the proposed amendment to N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.2, which eliminates the requirement that applicants who have not passed the initial licensing examination within a specific period of time take a refresher course, will result in cost savings for some applicants. In addition, proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5 and 6.20 that eliminate the requirement that shops place receptacles for soiled implements and tools at each work station, and N.J.A.C. 13:28-3.2(c)3, which eliminates the requirement to maintain a disinfection log for all pedicure tubs, may decrease operating costs for some shops. Moreover, the Board also anticipates that the proposed amendment to N.J.A.C. 13:28-3.2(d), which will eliminate the requirement that shops offering pedicure services install a .2 micron water filter on the incoming water line, will result in cost savings for such shops.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules are governed by P.L. 2009, c. 162 and N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal requirements or standards.

Jobs Impact

The Board anticipates that the proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules may result in the creation of jobs in the State to the extent that the rules authorize the establishment of barbering shops and beauty culture shops in New Jersey, with resulting job opportunities for licensed individuals to provide barbering and beauty culture services to New Jersey consumers. The Board cannot anticipate the number of jobs that may be created, however, because the number will vary depending on the number of new shops that are established following the adoption of the proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules.

Agriculture Industry Impact

The proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules will have no impact on the agriculture industry in the State.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Currently, the Board licenses approximately 80,000 practitioners, shops, and schools of cosmetology and hairstyling. If these licensees are considered "small businesses" within the meaning of the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq., then the following analysis applies.

The proposed amendments and new rules will impose various reporting, recordkeeping, and compliance requirements on individuals desiring to be licensed as beauticians or barbers, on individuals desiring to operate beauty culture or barbering shops, and on licensed cosmetology and hairstyling schools desiring to offer courses of instruction in beauty culture or barbering. These requirements are discussed in the Summary above.

The Board does not anticipate that any additional professional services will be needed to comply with the proposed amendments and new rules. The anticipated costs of compliance with the proposed amendments and new rules are discussed in the Economic Impact statement above. The Board believes that the proposed amendments and new rules should be uniformly applied to all applicants for licensure, licensees, shops, and cosmetology and hairstyling schools in order to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the general public in the provision of cosmetology and hairstyling services. Therefore, no differing compliance requirements for any applicant, licensee, licensed shop, or licensed school are provided based upon the size of the business.

[page=1766] Housing Affordability Impact Analysis

The proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules will have an insignificant impact on affordable housing in New Jersey and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the rules would evoke a change in the average costs associated with housing because the proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules concern cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and skin care specialty services.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis

The proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules will have an insignificant impact on smart growth and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the rules would evoke a change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because the proposed amendments, repeal, and new rules concern cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and skin care specialty services.

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):

SUBCHAPTER 1. PRACTICING LICENSES, APPLICATION, AND EXAMINATIONS

13:28-1.1 [Applicants for examination for licensure;] Practicing licenses; application and education requirements; acceptable documentation of credentials; license renewals; reinstatement; inactive status

(a) The following practicing licenses shall be available from the Board:

1. Cosmetology and hairstyling license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the following services:

i. Shaving or trimming of the beard, mustache, or other facial hair;

ii. Shampooing, cutting, arranging, dressing, relaxing, curling, permanent waving, or styling of the hair;

iii. Singeing, dyeing, tinting, coloring, or bleaching of the hair;

iv. Applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams, or makeup to the hair, scalp, face, or neck;

v. Massaging, cleansing, or stimulating the face, neck, or upper chest and upper back, with or without cosmetic preparations, either by hand, mechanical, or electrical appliances;

vi. Removing superfluous hair from the face, neck, arms, legs, or abdomen by the use of depilatories, waxing, or tweezers, but not by the use of electrolysis;

vii. Manicuring the fingernails, nail-sculpturing, or pedicuring the toenails;

viii. Cutting, fitting, coloring, or styling of hairpieces or wigs to the extent that the services are being performed while the wig is being worn by a person; and

ix. Hairweaving to the extent that the procedure does not involve the replacement of human hair by means of the insertion of any natural or synthetic fiber hair into the scalp;

2. Beauty culture license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the following services:

i. Shampooing, cutting, arranging, dressing, relaxing, curling, permanent waving, or styling of the hair;

ii. Singeing, dyeing, tinting, coloring, or bleaching of the hair;

iii. Applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams, or makeup to the hair, scalp, face, neck, or upper part of the body;

iv. Massaging, cleansing, or stimulating the face, scalp, neck, or upper chest and upper back, with or without cosmetic preparations either by hand, mechanical, or electrical appliances;

v. Removing superfluous hair from the face, neck, arms, legs, or abdomen by the use of depilatories, waxing, or tweezers, but not by the use of electrolysis;

vi. Manicuring the fingernails, nail-sculpturing, or pedicuring the toenails; and

vii. Cutting, fitting, coloring, or styling of hairpieces or wigs to the extent that the services are performed while the wig is being worn by a person;

3. Barbering license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the following services:

i. Shaving or trimming of the beard, mustache, or other facial hair;

ii. Shampooing, cutting, arranging, relaxing, or styling of the hair;

iii. Singeing, dyeing, tinting, coloring, or bleaching of the hair;

iv. Applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams to the hair, scalp, face, or neck;

v. Massaging, cleansing, or stimulating the face, neck, or scalp with or without cosmetic preparations, either by hand, mechanical, or electrical appliances; and

vi. Cutting, fitting, coloring, or styling of hairpieces or wigs, to the extent that the services are performed while the wig is being worn by a person;

4. Skin care specialty license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the following services:

i. Applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams, or makeup to the scalp, face, or neck;

ii. Massaging, cleansing, or stimulating the face, neck, or upper chest and upper back, with or without cosmetic preparations, either by hand, mechanical, or electrical appliances; and

iii. Removing superfluous hair from the face, neck, arms, legs, or abdomen by the use of depilatories, waxing, or tweezers, but not by the use of electrolysis; and

5. Manicuring license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the following services:

i. Manicuring of the fingernails;

ii. Pedicuring of the toenails;

iii. Nail sculpturing; and

iv. Removing superfluous hair from the face, neck, arms, legs, or abdomen by the use of depilatories, waxing, or tweezers, but not by the use of electrolysis.

Recodify existing (a)-(c) as (b)-(d) (No change in text.)

[(d) Except as provided in (d)1 below, all applications shall be accompanied by a certified transcript from a cosmetology and hairstyling school in New Jersey substantiating that the applicant has attained the requisite training in cosmetology and hairstyling as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.]

(e) Applicants for licensure shall have completed an educational program in cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty or manicuring, as appropriate for the practicing license the applicant seeks, consistent with the following:

1. Applicants for licensure who have obtained training at a cosmetology and hairstyling school licensed in New Jersey shall submit an official transcript substantiating that the applicant meets the following requirements:

i. An applicant for licensure as a cosmetologist-hairstylist shall have completed a 1,200-hour course of instruction in cosmetology and hairstyling, consistent with the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29.

ii. An applicant for licensure as a beautician shall have completed an 1,100-hour course of instruction in beauty culture, consistent with the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29A.

iii. An applicant for licensure as a barber shall have completed a 900-hour course of instruction in barbering, consistent with the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29B.

iv. An applicant for licensure as a skin care specialist shall have completed a 600-hour course of instruction in skin care specialty, consistent with the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.34.

v. An applicant for licensure as a manicurist shall have completed a 300-hour course of instruction in manicuring, consistent with the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.33.

2. Applicants for licensure who have obtained training in a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring program in a public school approved by the State Board of Education to offer such vocational programs, or in other cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring programs approved by the State Board of Education, shall submit an official transcript verifying completion of such program.

[page=1767] [1.] 3. Applicants [obtaining their cosmetology and hairstyling] who have obtained training in another state or country [must] shall demonstrate, by way of certification from [that state's or country's] the licensing authority in the state or country that such training [conforms] is substantially [with the standards applicable to] equivalent to the training offered at cosmetology and hairstyling schools licensed in [the State of] New Jersey. Applicants holding a license from another state or country who have engaged in the practice of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring for at least three years in that state or country, may submit, in lieu of the documentation of [cosmetology and hairstyling] training required in this paragraph, a notarized affidavit of work experience and a letter of certification of licensure [by the State's board] from the licensing authority in that state or country.

Recodify existing (e)-(h) as (f)-(i) (No change in text.)

[(i)] (j) A licensee who continues to render [cosmetology and hairstyling] services with a suspended license shall be deemed to be engaging in the unauthorized practice of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring, as appropriate, and shall be subject to the penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 45:1-25.

[(j)] (k) A licensee who has had his or her license suspended pursuant to [(g)] (h) above, who applies to the Board for reinstatement shall submit a renewal application, all past delinquent renewal fees, the reinstatement fee set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-5.1, and an affidavit of employment listing each job held during the period of license suspension, including the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of each employer. An individual whose license has been suspended for more than five years shall also retake and pass the license examination set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.2.

[(k)] (l) A licensee may, upon application to the Board, choose inactive status. A licensee electing inactive status shall not render cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring services, as appropriate, for the entire biennial registration period. A licensee on inactive status may resume [the] active practice [of cosmetology and hairstyling] upon payment of the renewal fee for the current biennial registration period set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-5.1.

13:28-1.2 Examination and reexaminations

(a)-(d) (No change.)

[(e) If an applicant has not passed both the theory and practical portions of the examination within three years from the date the applicant first took the examination, the applicant shall take a refresher course pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.25 prior to being reexamined.

(f) An applicant shall take the examination within five years of completing his or her training.

1. If an applicant applies for examination, but has not taken the examination or has failed to appear for the examination for more than three years, but less than five years, from the date he or she completed training, the applicant shall take a refresher course pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.25 prior to being examined.

2. An applicant shall not be permitted to take the examination if the applicant applies for examination more than five years from the date he or she completed training. Any such applicant shall be required to retake and complete the training program in full prior to being admitted to the examination.]

13:28-1.3 Temporary permits and student permits

(a) Upon the Board's acceptance of an application to sit for an examination, a temporary permit, which shall be valid for a period of 120 days, [may] shall be issued, upon request, to an applicant for a practicing license.

(b) Upon application, the Board [may] shall issue a student permit, consistent with the student's course work, to any student registered at a licensed New Jersey cosmetology and hairstyling school or enrolled in a New Jersey State approved high school or vocational program, in a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty course of study, as appropriate.

1. An application for a student permit shall be accompanied by the appropriate fee as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-5.1 and a certification from the school that the student has completed the requisite hours of training, as set forth in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(r) and N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.29 through 6.34 for the appropriate course of study.

13:28-1.4 Application for license to teach or practice cosmetology and hairstyling by persons holding both a barbering license and a beauty culture license issued prior to 1985

(a) Any person holding both a New Jersey State barbering license and a New Jersey State [beautician] beauty culture license, issued prior to 1985, may be issued a license to practice cosmetology and hairstyling upon notice to the Board and payment of the appropriate fee as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-5.1.

(b) Any person holding both a New Jersey State barbering license and a New Jersey State license to teach beauty culture, issued prior to 1985, may be issued a license to teach cosmetology and hairstyling upon application to the Board and payment of the appropriate fee as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-5.1.

13:28-1.7 [Qualifications of teachers] Teaching license; qualifications; application requirements

(a) [Each] Any person desiring to teach in a school of cosmetology and hairstyling shall secure a license from the Board.

(b) (No change.)

(c) To qualify as a candidate for licensure as a teacher of cosmetology and hairstyling, an applicant shall present satisfactory evidence to the Board that he or she:

1.-5. (No change.)

6. Has successfully completed a teacher training course of 500 hours at a licensed school of cosmetology and hairstyling approved by the Board consistent with the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.31;

7.-9. (No change.)

(d) The holder of a teaching license issued by the Board pursuant to this section shall be authorized to teach cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, and manicuring.

SUBCHAPTER 1A. DEFINITIONS

13:28-1A.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Barber" means any person holding a barbering license authorized to perform the services set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)3.

"Beautician" means any person holding a beauty culture license authorized to perform the services set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)2.

"Board" means the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling.

"Cosmetologist-hairstylist" means any person holding a cosmetology and hairstyling license authorized to perform the services set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)1.

"Cosmetology and hairstyling school" or "school of cosmetology and hairstyling" means licensed schools offering cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, and/or skin care specialty courses.

"Manicurist" means any person holding a limited license to perform only the manicuring services set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)5.

"Shop" means any fixed establishment or place where one or more persons engage in one or more of the practices of cosmetology or hairstyling, barbering, beauty culture, manicuring, or skin care specialty, wherein licensees are authorized to perform the services set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a).

"Skin care specialist" means a person who holds a limited license to perform only the skin care specialty services set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)4.

"Teacher of cosmetology and hairstyling" means a teacher licensed by the Board to give instruction or training in the theory or practice at a licensed school of cosmetology and hairstyling in any of the following subject areas: cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty.

[page=1768] SUBCHAPTER 2. SHOP LICENSES

13:28-2.1 Applications for initial shop license; changes to existing shops

(a) The following shop licenses shall be available from the Board:

1. Cosmetology and hairstyling shop license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the services delineated in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)1;

2. Beauty culture shop license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the services delineated in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)2;

3. Barbering shop license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the services delineated in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)3;

4. Skin care specialty shop license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the services delineated in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)4; and

5. Manicuring shop license, which shall authorize the holder to provide the services delineated in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a)5.

Recodify existing (a)-(b) as (b)-(c) (No change in text.)

[(c)] (d) All applications for an initial shop license shall be accompanied by a floor plan that shall be drawn to scale and shall accurately detail the location and the total floor space for work stations, waiting areas, dispensary, shampoo stations, if applicable, lavatories, and[, if applicable,] laundry facilities, if applicable. A copy of the original floor plan shall be maintained on the shop premises.

Recodify existing (d) and (e) as (e) and (f) (No change in text.)

[(f)] (g) Upon receipt of an acceptable application and the requisite fee as provided in N.J.A.C. [13:28- 5.1] 13:28-5.1, the Board shall conduct an inspection of the premises. No shop shall be permitted to operate until the Board has reviewed the inspection report and issues a shop license.

[(g)] (h) (No change in text.)

13:28-2.2 Removal of a shop

(a) Prior to the removal of a shop to another address, the holder of a shop license shall apply to the Board for a new shop license and shall comply with the application requirements set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.1.

1. (No change.)

2. The practice of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty, as appropriate, shall not be performed on the premises of the new shop until a shop license has been issued.

13:28-2.3 Transfer of ownership

(a) (No change.)

(b) Prior to the completion of a transfer of ownership, the intended new owner shall apply for a new shop license pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.1, except as provided in (b)1 below. The practice of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty, as appropriate, shall not be performed on the premises of the shop until a new shop license has been issued.

1. (No change.)

(Agency Note: Please note that the text of the Notice at N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5(d) is depicted with brackets, which are not intended to indicate text to be deleted, but instead are intended as new text to be permanently included in brackets.)

13:28-2.5 Physical requirements for cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, and barbering shops applying for initial shop license

(a) All licensed [premises] cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, and barbering shops shall contain at least 350 square feet of floor space. An additional 50 square feet of floor space shall be provided for every work station in excess of two.

1. (No change.)

2. All shops [must] shall contain the following:

i. (No change.)

ii. For barbering shops only, at least one chair with an adjustable headrest suitable for performing shaving services;

Recodify existing ii.-iii. as iii.-iv. (No change in text.)

[iv. A clean, closed receptacle at each work station that allows soiled implements and tools to be completely immersed in an enzyme solution prior to cleaning and disinfection;]

v.-xi. (No change.)

(b) [Shops] Cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, and barbering shops shall display a permanent sign indicating the name of the shop, which shall be clearly visible to the general public from the exterior of the shop.

(c) (No change.)

(d) All cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, and barbering shops shall display the following notice, as applicable, to the services offered in the shop, in a location clearly visible to all patrons:

NOTICE

This shop and the operators herein are licensed to engage in the practice of [cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture or barbering] by the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, an agency of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. Any member of the consuming public having a complaint concerning the manner in which this practice is conducted may notify the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling or the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, PO Box 45003, Newark, New Jersey 07101, www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/complaint/cosmocom.pdf.

13:28-2.6 Physical requirements for manicuring shops applying for initial shop license

(a) In addition to meeting the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5(a), (a)1, (b), and (c), all manicuring shops shall contain the following:

1.-3. (No change.)

[4. A clean, closed receptacle at each work station that allows soiled implements and tools to be completely immersed in an enzyme solution prior to cleaning and disinfection;]

Recodify existing 5.-10. as 4.-9. (No change in text.)

[(b) Each shop shall ensure that there is at least one experienced practicing licensee, as defined in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-11(a), (b) or (c), present to generally oversee the management of the shop.]

[(c)] (b) All licensed manicuring shops shall display the following notice in a location clearly visible to all patrons:

NOTICE

This shop and the operators herein are licensed to engage in the practice of manicuring and pedicuring and the temporary removal of hair by the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, an agency of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. Any member of the consuming public having a complaint concerning the manner in which this practice is conducted may notify the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling or the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, PO Box 45003, Newark, New Jersey 07101, www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/complaint/cosmocom.pdf.

13:28-2.6A Physical requirements for skin care specialty shops applying for initial shop license

(a) In addition to meeting the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5(a), (a)1, (b), and (c), all skin care specialty shops shall contain the following:

1.-3. (No change.)

[4. A clean, closed receptacle at each work station that allows soiled implements and tools to be completely immersed in an enzyme solution prior to cleaning and disinfection;]

Recodify existing 5.-10. as 4.-9. (No change in text.)

[(b) Each skin care specialty shop shall ensure that there is at least one experienced practicing licensee, as defined in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-11(a), (b) or (d), present to generally oversee the management of the shop.]

[(c)] (b) All licensed skin care specialty shops shall display the following notice in a location clearly visible to all patrons:

NOTICE

This shop and the operators herein are licensed to provide skin care specialty services and the temporary removal of hair by the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, an agency of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. Any member of the consuming public having a complaint concerning the matter in which this practice is conducted may notify the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling or the New Jersey [page=1769] Division of Consumer Affairs, PO Box 45003, Newark, New Jersey 07101, www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/complaint/cosmocom.pdf.

13:28-2.7 Shops within residential premises

(a) (No change.)

(b) Entrances to shops located within private residences [must] shall permit patrons to enter the shop directly, without requiring passage through any portion of the residence.

(c) No cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services [encompassed within the definition of cosmetology and hairstyling services] shall be rendered or offered to be rendered upon residential premises which are not licensed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-9 and this chapter.

13:28-2.7A Limitation of business activities within shops

(a) The holder of a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or barbering shop license shall not engage in any business activities within the licensed premises except for the offering of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or barbering services as defined in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-[3(j)]3(b), (d), and (j) and set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a), as appropriate, the sale of merchandise pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-37 and N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.9, and the offering of ancillary beautification services pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-37 and N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.10.

(b) The holder of a skin care specialty shop license shall not engage in any business activities within the licensed premises except for the offering of skin care specialty services as defined in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(y) and set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a), the sale of merchandise pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-37 and N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.9, and the offering of ancillary beautification services pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-37 and N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.10.

(c) The holder of a manicuring shop license shall not engage in any business activities within the licensed premises except for the offering of manicuring services as defined in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(l) and set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a) and the sale of merchandise pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-37 and N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.9.

13:28-2.8 Leasing space prohibited

No holder of a shop license shall lease or sublease space or provide space on the licensed premises to a non-employee for the purpose of providing cosmetology and hairstyling [services], beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, skin care specialty, or ancillary services as part of a separate business to be conducted by the non-employee. Practices commonly known as chair rentals or booth rentals are prohibited by this section.

13:28-2.9 Sale of merchandise

The holder of a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty shop license may permit the sale of merchandise within licensed premises, provided that space allocated for such sales is in addition to the space required by N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5, 2.6, or 2.6A.

13:28-2.10 Ancillary services in licensed cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, and skin care specialty shops

(a) The holder of a cosmetology and hairstyling, [shop license and the holder of a] beauty culture, barbering, or skin care specialty shop license, may offer ancillary services related to the beautification of the body or the enhancement of personal appearance, but not included in the definition of cosmetology and hairstyling, as set forth at N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(j) or the offering set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a), on the licensed premises, consistent with the provisions of this section, provided that these services are performed in a safe and sanitary manner by personnel who are adequately trained to render such services, and that the space allocated for such services is in addition to the space required by N.J.A.C. 13:28-2.5 and 2.6A.

(b)-(c) (No change.)

(d) If massage services, which do not fall within the definition of cosmetology and hairstyling set forth in N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(j) or the offerings set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a), are offered, such services shall be performed by a massage therapist who has been certified by the Massage, Bodywork and Somatic Therapy Examining Committee pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-16 or has completed a course or program that meets the requirements set forth at N.J.A.C. 13:37-16.4.

13:28-2.11 No ancillary services at licensed manicuring shops

[(a)] The holder of a manicuring shop license shall not offer on the licensed premises any ancillary services related to the beautification of the body or the enhancement of personal appearance except for the [following] practices enumerated in the definition of manicuring, set forth at N.J.S.A. 45:5B-3(l)[:] or the offerings set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1(a).

[1. Manicuring the fingernails;

2. Nail-sculpturing;

3. Pedicuring the toenails; or

4. Removing superfluous hair from the face, neck, arms, legs or abdomen by the use of depilatories, waxing or tweezing, but not by the use of electrolysis.]

13:28-2.12 Posting of licenses [and required notices]

(a) (No change.)

[(b) All licensed shops other than manicuring shops and skin care specialty shops shall display the following notice:

NOTICE

This shop and the operators herein are licensed to engage in the practice of cosmetology and hairstyling by the State of New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. Any member of the consuming public having a complaint concerning the manner in which this practice is conducted may notify the State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling at 124 Halsey Street, Newark, New Jersey 07102, or the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Post Office Box 45003, Newark, New Jersey 07101.]

13:28-2.13 Supervision of shops; [and absence of] experienced practicing licensee

(a) Except as provided in (c) below, all shops shall ensure that there is at least one experienced practicing licensee present to generally oversee the management of the shop, consistent with the following requirements:

1. For a licensed cosmetology and hairstyling shop, the practicing licensee shall hold a cosmetology and hairstyling license and have three years of experience as a licensed cosmetologist-hairstylist.

2. For a licensed beauty culture shop, the practicing licensee shall hold either a cosmetology and hairstyling or beauty culture license and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist or beautician.

3. For a licensed barbering shop, the practicing licensee shall hold either a cosmetology and hairstyling or barbering license and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist or barber.

4. For a licensed skin care specialty shop, the practicing licensee shall hold a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or skin care specialty license and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist, beautician, or skin care specialist.

5. For a licensed manicuring shop, the practicing licensee shall hold a cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or manicurist license and have three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist, beautician, or manicurist.

(b) A shop that satisfies the requirements of (a) above by employing a practicing licensee who holds a beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring license shall not employ senior students who have been issued a student permit pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.3, other than those being trained in the practice for which the practicing licensee holds a license, unless the shop also employs a practicing licensee who holds a cosmetology and hairstyling license and has at least three years of experience as a cosmetologist-hairstylist.

[(a)] (c) Each cosmetology and hairstyling shop licensed prior to 1985, shall designate one experienced practicing licensee who shall be present to generally oversee the management of the shop. The experienced practicing licensee shall hold a [beautician, barber or cosmetologist-hairstylist] cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, or barbering license and have three years of experience as a beautician, [page=1770] barber, or cosmetologist-hairstylist. [The name of the designated experienced practicing licensee shall be posted in a location clearly visible to all patrons.]

[(b) Each manicuring shop shall designate one experienced practicing licensee who shall be present to generally oversee the management of the shop. The experienced practicing licensee shall hold a beautician, barber, cosmetology-hairstylist or manicuring license and have three years of experience as a beautician, barber, cosmetologist or manicurist. The name of the designated experienced practicing licensee shall be posted in a location clearly visible to all patrons.

(c) Each skin care specialty shop shall designate one experienced practicing licensee who shall be present to generally oversee the management of the shop. The experienced practicing licensee shall hold a beautician, barber, cosmetology-hairstylist or skin care specialty license and have three years of experience as a beautician, barber, cosmetologist or skin care specialist. The name of the designated experienced practicing licensee shall be posted in a location clearly visible to all patrons.]

(d) A shop which satisfies the requirements of [(a)] (c) above by employing a practicing licensee who holds a barbering license shall be prohibited from employing senior students unless the shop employs a practicing licensee who holds a license as a beautician or a cosmetologist-hairstylist and has at least three years of experience as a beautician or a cosmetologist-hairstylist, who shall supervise the rendering of [cosmetological] cosmetology and hairstyling services by the senior students.

(e) The name of the designated experienced practicing licensee shall be posted in a location clearly visible to all patrons.

Recodify existing (e)-(f) as (f)-(g) (No change in text.)

13:28-2.14 Unlicensed personnel

(a) The holder of a shop license shall not aid, abet, or permit a person not licensed by the Board to render any services encompassed within the definition of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, skin care specialty, or manicuring, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq.

(b) (No change.)

13:28-2.15 Prohibited practices

(a) (No change.)

(b) A practitioner shall not:

1.-3. (No change.)

[4. (Reserved)]

4. Provide, or offer to provide, fish pedicures.

i. For purposes of this paragraph, "fish pedicures" means the use of live fish to perform any service incident to the provision of pedicure services;

5.-7. (No change.)

8. Utilize any medical device to perform services within the definition of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty, other than Class I medical devices approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration. A practitioner shall comply with manufacturers' instructions for use, cleaning, and maintenance of Class I medical devices;

9.-12. (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 3. SAFETY AND SANITATION

13:28-3.2 Sanitizing implements and tools

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) All shops offering pedicuring services shall ensure that pedicure tubs are cleaned consistent with the following:

1. Cleaning procedures between clients shall include:

i.-ii. (No change.)

iii. Spraying the interior surfaces with a chemical disinfectant registered by the Environmental Protection Agency and labeled as being tuberculocidal for a contact time as specified on the product label, or applying a bleach wipe at a 6% concentration of sodium hypochlorite for a two and a half minute contact time; and

2. Cleaning procedures at the end of the day shall include:

i.-iii. (No change.)

iv. Disinfecting all brushes at the end of the day by soaking them in a solution of sodium hypochlorite 6% (bleach) and water at a concentration of 2,600 PPM (3/4 cup of bleach to one gallon of water) for a 30-minute contact time[; and].

[3. A disinfection log shall be established to record end of the day disinfection of each pedicuring tub. The log shall include, at a minimum, the date, tub number and name of the person disinfecting the equipment. The log shall be posted in a location clearly visible to all patrons.]

[(d) All shops offering pedicuring services shall, by November 18, 2009, ensure that a .2 micron filter is installed on the incoming water line used to fill pedicure tubs. The date of installation shall be marked on the filter and shall be changed according to the manufacturers' recommendations.]

[(e)] (d) (No change in text.)

13:28-3.3 Personnel

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) No practitioner shall serve a patron if the practitioner has a communicable, contagious, or infectious disease, which could reasonably be expected to be transmitted during the course of rendering cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services.

(d) No practitioner shall serve a patron whom the practitioner knows or has reasonable grounds to believe has a communicable, contagious, or infectious disease, which could reasonably be expected to be transmitted during the course of rendering cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services.

(e) All practitioners shall utilize safe practice techniques and follow manufacturers' instructions when utilizing any chemical preparations in the rendering of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services. The holder of a shop license shall ensure that:

1.-4. (No change.)

13:28-3.4 Prohibited products

(a) [No] A licensee, licensed [premise] shop, or school of cosmetology and hairstyling shall not utilize any product that contains methyl methacrylate monomer.

(b) A licensee, licensed shop, or school of cosmetology and hairstyling shall not utilize styptic pencils. Licensees, licensed shops and schools of cosmetology and hairstyling may utilize styptic liquid or powder, or other single-use antiseptic product.

Recodify existing (b)-(c) as (c)-(d) (No change in text.)

SUBCHAPTER 4. ENFORCEMENT

13:28-4.1 Inspection of premises

(a) Any premises where it appears that cosmetology and hairstyling, [services, including] beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, [and] or skin care specialty services[,] have been or are being rendered shall be subject to inspection by the Board or its representative.

(b) All documents, implements, tools, and products maintained pursuant to this chapter shall be available for immediate inspection, [and] photocopying, and photographing by the Board or its authorized representative.

(c)-(d) (No change.)

13:28-4.2 Compliance with laws and rules

Any individual rendering cosmetology and hairstyling, [services, including] beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, [and] or skin care specialty services[,] shall comply with all laws and rules relating to the provision of such services including the Cosmetology and Hairstyling Act of 1984, N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq.; the rules of the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, N.J.A.C. 13:28; the Uniform Enforcement Act, N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.1, 7.2, 7.3, and 14 et seq.; and the uniform rules of the Division of Consumer Affairs, N.J.A.C. 13:45C.

13:28-4.3 Responsibility for compliance with laws and rules

The holder of a shop license, as well as the shop's designated experienced practicing licensee, shall be responsible for compliance with all laws and rules relating to the operation of the premises at which cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services are rendered and all laws and rules relating to the practice of such services including the Cosmetology and Hairstyling [page=1771] Act of 1984, N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq.; the rules of the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, N.J.A.C. 13:28; the Uniform Enforcement Act, N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.1, 7.2, 7.3, and 14 et seq.; and the uniform rules of the Division of Consumer Affairs, N.J.A.C. 13:45C.

13:28-4.4 Verification of licensure

(a) The holder of a shop license and the designated experienced practicing licensee shall verify that each practitioner rendering cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services in the shop holds a valid license or permit issued pursuant to this subchapter at all times. The holder of a shop license and the designated experienced practicing licensee shall review each practitioner's license or permit, as well as two additional forms of identification, at least one of which must bear a photograph of the practitioner.

(b)-(e) (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 6. SCHOOLS OF COSMETOLOGY AND HAIRSTYLING

13:28-6.1 Compliance with laws and rules

Licensed schools shall comply with all laws and rules relating to the practice of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty including the Cosmetology and Hairstyling Act of 1984, N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq.[,]; the rules of the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, N.J.A.C. 13:28; the Uniform Enforcement Act, N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.1, 7.2, 7.3, and 14 et seq.; and the [uniform regulations] Uniform Regulations of the Division of Consumer Affairs, N.J.A.C. 13:45C. Any school violating any provision of this chapter shall be subject to disciplinary action by the Board. A notice of proposed suspension or revocation of a license shall inform the licensee of the right to be heard pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq. and the Uniform Administrative Procedure Rules, N.J.A.C. 1:1.

13:28-6.7 Size of schools; number of students

(a) Each school shall have at least 2,750 square feet of floor space, consisting of at least 500 square feet for offices, reception area and locker space separate and apart from the lavatories, and at least 2,250 square feet for working space.

1. (No change.)

2. For every student thereafter there shall be 20 square feet of floor space per cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, or manicuring student, but there shall be 25 square feet of floor space per skin care specialty student.

(b)-(c) (No change.)

13:28-6.15 School records

(a)-(d) (No change.)

(e) School rules and regulations and copies of current cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty laws and rules of the State of New Jersey shall be maintained by each school in a location readily accessible to the students and management.

13:28-6.16 Other trades; demonstrations

(a) Trades or professions other than the teaching of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty shall not be practiced on the premises of a licensed school.

(b) (No change.)

13:28-6.20 Minimum equipment

(a) (No change.)

(b) The minimum equipment required for schools shall be as follows:

1.-9. (No change.)

[10. A clean, closed receptacle at each work station that allows soiled implements and tools to be completely immersed in an enzyme solution prior to cleaning and disinfection;]

Recodify existing 11.-27. as 10.-26. (No change in text.)

[28.] 27. A barber chair[.];

Recodify existing 29.-33. as 28.-32. (No change in text.)

(c) (No change.)

(d) Each school shall supply each beauty culture student with the following tools: two hair brushes, one thermal brush, combs, 100 clips, cape, haircutting razor, shears, thinning shears, cold wave rods, end papers, rollers, tint brush, bowl and applicator bottle, duck clips, spray bottle, styptic powder or liquid, mannequin with stand and/or table clamp, hard rubber comb, marcel iron, blow dryer, protective eyewear, protective gloves, a manicuring kit with tips and wraps, a make-up kit, a tweezer, a cold wax kit, metal pressing comb, workbook, and textbook.

(e) Each school shall supply each barbering student with the following tools: two barber combs, two hair brushes, one thermal brush, combs, 100 clips, cape, haircutting razor, shears, thinning shears, cold wave rods, end papers, rollers, tint brush, bowl and applicator bottle, duck clips, spray bottle, styptic powder or liquid, mannequin with stand and/or table clamp, hard rubber comb, marcel iron, blow dryer, protective eyewear, protective gloves, metal pressing comb, shaving razor with disposable blades, electric clipper with attachment guards, workbook, and textbook.

Recodify existing (d)-(l) as (f)-(n) (No change in text.)

13:28-6.21 Student standards and requirements

(a)-(c) (No change.)

(d) Junior and senior students shall be distinguished as follows:

1.-2. (No change.)

3. Junior beauty culture students are those students who have completed less than 550 hours of their courses in beauty culture;

4. Senior beauty culture students are those students who have completed 550 hours or more of their courses in beauty culture;

5. Junior barbering students are those students who have completed less than 450 hours of their courses in barbering;

6. Senior barbering students are those students who have completed 450 hours or more of their courses in barbering;

Recodify existing 3.-6. as 7.-10. (No change in text.)

(e)-(j) (No change.)

(k) Failure of a school or student to comply with any provision of [N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.21] this section may result in the Board's refusal to recognize credit hours claimed by or for a student and disqualify that student for examination by the Board.

(l) A student who desires to transfer to another school shall notify the Board of his or her intention at least two weeks in advance of the proposed transfer.

1. (No change.)

2. Credit hours for cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty training in [out-of-state] out-of-State schools will be granted if such schools are approved by the Board.

(m)-(q) (No change.)

13:28-6.23 Number of teachers employed; teacher restrictions

(a) The number of teachers a school shall employ shall be determined in the following manner:

1. A minimum of one licensed teacher for every clinic area attended by up to 25 senior students (whether cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty students);

2.-3. (No change.)

4. A minimum of one licensed teacher for every classroom attended by up to 25 junior beauty culture students;

5. A minimum of one licensed teacher for every classroom attended by up to 25 junior barbering students;

[4.] 6. A minimum of one licensed teacher for every classroom attended by up to 25 manicuring students; and

[5.] 7. (No change in text.)

(b) Teachers shall devote their entire time during school hours to the proper instruction of students and shall not engage in private or public practice of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty during school hours. Teachers licensed by the Board shall be in constant attendance at all classes conducted by licensed schools.

(c)-(e) (No change.)

[page=1772] 13:28-6.25 Refresher courses

(a) Refresher courses may be administered to the following:

1. Any person who holds a practitioner's license; and

2. Any person who held a practitioner's license that has been suspended for failure to renew who desires to prepare for an examination[;].

[3. An applicant for licensure who applies for examination more than three years, but less than five years, from the date he or she completed training; and

4. An applicant for licensure who has not passed both the theory and practical portions of the examination within three years from the date the applicant first took the examination.]

(b)-(d) (No change.)

13:28-6.26 [Postgraduate courses] (Reserved)

[(a) Postgraduate courses shall be administered only to persons who presently hold a current practitioner's license, or to persons who have completed 1,200 hours of training and were graduated but have not obtained their license and desire to obtain advanced education in the practice of cosmetology and hairstyling.

(b) The school shall forward applications for student registration cards to the Board for all persons desiring to enroll in postgraduate courses.

(c) A student permitted by the Board to enroll in postgraduate courses shall comply with that particular school's rules and with the rules of the Board.

(d) Credit will not be given by the Board for postgraduate courses of less than 250 hours.]

13:28-6.27 Clinical work prerequisites and limitations

(a) (No change.)

(b) A school shall not permit its students to practice cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty on the public under any circumstances except by way of clinical work performed upon persons willing to submit themselves to such practice.

(c) Before clinical work may be performed, the person to receive cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services shall be advised by the teacher in charge that the operator is a senior student.

(d) (No change.)

(e) Clinical services may be performed upon the general public during the hours of school training daily from Monday to Saturday inclusive by senior cosmetology and hairstyling, senior beauty culture, senior barber, senior manicuring, and senior skin care specialty students only.

(f)-(h) (No change.)

(i) Truthful, non-deceptive school advertisements for clinic patrons upon whom cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty services may be performed are permitted, provided however, that all such advertisements must clearly inform the prospective clinic client that the advertised services are to be performed by senior students under the supervision of licensed teachers.

(j) (No change.)

(k) The school shall keep records or slips showing the number of cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty treatments [or operations of clinical work] provided by senior students. These records or slips shall be maintained and kept by the school on its premises as part of its official records.

(l) (No change.)

(Agency Note: The column headings of N.J.A.C. 13:28-6.28, 6.29, and 6.32 are indicated below in boldface, as that is how they appear in the existing Administrative Code text. There is no proposed change in text to the column headings, only in the actual columns, as indicated.)

13:28-6.28 Curriculum for 500-hour course for barbers who wish to obtain a cosmetology-hairstyling license

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTION UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

. . .

TOTAL HOURS

[180] 180

[320] 320

[500]

500



13:28-6.29 Curriculum for [1200-hour] 1,200-hour cosmetology and hairstyling course

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

State Laws, Rules, &

10

0

10

Regulations for

Cosmetology &

Hairstyling &

Administrative Shop

Operations

Decontamination &

[3] 15

[7] 5

[10] 20

Infection Control

Professional Image,

2

0

2

Hygiene, & Related

Practices

History of Barbering

4

0

4

Shaving

15

66

81

Beard & Mustache

5

10

15

Trimming

Facials & Massage, Skin

[30] 25

[70] 53

[100]

Care, Make-up,

78

Depilatory, Eyebrow

Arching, Shaving

Shampooing - including

[25] 20

[45] 40

[70] 60

Temporary &

Semi-Permanent Rinses

Hair and Scalp

15

[40] 35

[55] 50

Treatments,

Reconditioning

Treatments

Hair & Basic Layer &

40

[130] 120

[170]

Clipper Cut - Razor,

160

Scissors, Thinning

Shears, Tapering

Hairstyling - including

[30] 25

[150] 135

[180]

Pin Curls, Fingerwaving,

160

& Blow Waving

. . .

Permanent Waving

[30] 25

[100] 90

[130]

115

. . .

Thermal Curling &

[15] 10

[45] 35

[60] 45

Waving

Manicuring & Pedicure

[50] 45

[100] 90

[150]

135

. . .

TOTAL HOURS

[343] 351

[857] 849

[1200]

1,200



13:28-6.29A Curriculum for 1,100-hour beauty culture course

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

State Laws, Rules, &

10

0

10

Regulations for

Cosmetology &

Hairstyling &

Administrative Shop

Operations

Decontamination &

15

5

20

Infection Control

Professional Image,

2

0

2

Hygiene, & Related

Practices

Facials & Massage,

25

53

78

Skin Care, Make-up,

Depilatory, Eyebrow

Arching

Shampooing - including

20

40

60

Temporary &

Semi-Permanent Rinses

Hair and Scalp

15

35

50

Treatments,

Reconditioning

Treatments

Hair & Basic Layer &

40

120

160

Clipper Cut - Razor,

Scissors, Thinning

Shears, Tapering

Hairstyling -

25

135

160

including Pin Curls,

Finger-waving, & Blow

Waving

Hair Tinting &

35

110

145

Bleaching including

Frosting, Tipping &

Streaks

Permanent Waving

25

90

115

Chemical Relaxing &

30

60

90

Pressing

Thermal Curling &

10

35

45

Waving

Manicuring & Pedicure

45

90

135

Chemistry Relating to

30

0

30

Cosmetology

TOTAL HOURS

327

773

1,100



13:28-6.29B Curriculum for 900-hour barbering course

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

State Laws, Rules, &

10

0

10

Regulations for

Cosmetology &

Hairstyling &

Administrative Shop

Operations

History of Hair &

4

0

4

Barbering

Professional Image,

2

0

2

Hygiene, & Related

Practices

Decontamination &

15

5

20

Infection Control

Shampooing and Scalp

5

15

20

Care

Honing & Stropping

2

2

4

Shaving

20

105

125

Men's Hair Cutting &

25

200

225

Styling

Beard & Mustache

5

10

15

Trimming

Women's Hair Cutting &

15

55

70

Styling

Facials & Facial

5

10

15

Massage

Anatomy of Head, Neck,

5

0

5

& Face

Common Disorders of

5

0

5

the Skin, Scalp, &

Hair

Electricity

5

0

5

Men's Hairpiece

15

40

55

Services

Chemistry &

75

135

210

Chemical-Related

Services -

Straightening/Permanent

Waving

Hair Color and

30

80

110

Lightening

TOTAL HOURS

243

657

900



[page=1774] 13:28-6.30 Curriculum for [25 hour] 25-hour shaving course for beauticians who wish to obtain a cosmetology-hairstyling license

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

(No change.)

13:28-6.31 Curriculum for 500-hour [teacher training] teacher-training course

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

[Hours of Class and

[Hours of

[Total]

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction]

Instruction]

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

State Laws, Rules, &

5

0

5

Regulations for

Cosmetology &

Hairstyling &

Administrative Shop

Operations

. . .

Classroom Management

[20] 20

[0] 0

[20] 20

TOTAL HOURS

220

280

500



13:28-6.33 Curriculum for 300-hour manicuring course

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

[Hours of Class and

[Hours of

[Total]

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction]

Instruction]

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

State Laws, Rules, &

10

0

10

Regulations for

Cosmetology &

Hairstyling &

Administrative Shop

Operations

[State Board

5

10

15

Examination

Professionalism, Safety

5

0

5]

and Health

Professional Image,

2

0

2

Hygiene, & Related

Practices

Decontamination &

[10] 15

5

[15] 20

Infection Control

Manicuring and

10

[40] 45

[50] 55

Pedicuring

. . .

Anatomy of the Hand,

10

0

10

Arm, Foot, [and]

& Leg

Nail Tips and

5

[20] 25

[25] 30

Extensions

Nail Wraps

5

[20] 25

[25] 30

Nail Gels

5

[10] 15

[15] 20

. . .

[Salon Management

10

0

10]

. . .

Chemicals [and] &

[10] 13

[0] 0

[10] 13

Chemistry Relating to

Products

TOTAL HOURS

[130] 120

[170] 180

300



13:28-6.34 Curriculum for 600-hour skin care specialty course

TIME DISTRIBUTION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL UNITS AND CLINICAL PRACTICE:

[Hours of Class and

[Hours of

[Total]

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction]

Instruction]

Hours of Class and

Hours of

Total

Subject Related

Practical

Instruction

Instruction

State Laws, Rules, &

10

0

10

Regulations for

Cosmetology &

Hairstyling &

Administrative Shop

Operations

[Orientation, Safety

10

0

10]

and Health and

Professionalism

Professional Image,

2

0

2

Hygiene, & Related

Practices

Decontamination &

[20] 15

5

[25] 20

Infection Control

Anatomy, Physiology,

40

0

40

[and] & Nutrition

Structure [and] &

[25] 35

0

[25] 35

Functions of Skin

. . .

Chemistry Related to

[40] 48

0

[40] 48

Skin Care

. . .

Facial and Body

50

[125] 150

[175]

Procedures

200

Make-up Techniques

[50] 50

[100] 100

[150]

[and] & Corrective

150

Make-up Techniques

(post-surgical)

[Business Practices

30

0

30]

and Job Skills

[Total Hours] TOTAL

[300] 275

[300] 325

600

HOURS



[page=1775] 13:28-6.36 Annex classrooms

(a) An application for approval of a school of cosmetology and hairstyling to conduct an annex classroom separate and apart from the licensed main facility for specific training activities shall be submitted on an application form prescribed and provided by the Board. The application shall specify the location of the annex classroom and the type of instruction to be conducted in the annex classroom, whether cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring, or skin care specialty.

1.-4. (No change.)

(b) The minimum requirements for an annex classroom are as follows:

1. The minimum floor space in any annex classroom shall be at least 500 square feet, excluding offices, reception, locker and lavatory space, for the first 25 students.

i. For every student thereafter, there shall be 20 square feet of floor space per cosmetology and hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, and manicuring student and 25 square feet of floor space per skin care specialty student.

ii. (No change.)

2. Each annex classroom shall possess and operate equipment adequate and sufficient for the courses of instruction administered. This equipment shall be modern, installed in accordance with standard building codes or safety regulations and operated in conformity with standard safety regulations. The minimum equipment required for all annex classrooms shall include: an ultrasonic unit, a chalk board, one locker per student, separate lavatory facilities for men and women with toilets and sinks having hot and cold running water, a library of texts and reference books, and such other necessary equipment in accordance with the approved curriculum. In addition, annex classrooms shall conform to the following equipment standards:

i. An annex classroom approved for instruction in cosmetology and hairstyling and beauty culture shall include: work stations for at least 25 students or for the actual number of students in attendance, whichever is greater, two shampoo bowls and chairs, two dryers, two styling chairs, a manicure station, a utility table with disposable sanitary covering, a make-up stool, a facial steamer, a suction machine, a magnifying lamp, an electric brushing machine, an electric heating mask, a waxing unit, a spray machine, a Wood's lamp and a high frequency instrument.

ii. An annex classroom approved for instruction in barbering shall include: work stations for at least 25 students or for the actual number of students in attendance, whichever is greater, two shampoo bowls and chairs, two dryers, two styling chairs, one chair with adjustable headrest suitable for performing shaving services, and a utility table with disposable sanitary covering.

Recodify existing ii.-iii. as iii.-iv. (No change in text.)

3.-7. (No change.)

(c)-(d) (No change.)


 

 


 

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: