
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs

New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45003

Newark, New Jersey 07101
(973) 504-6400

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a License

Reinstatement fees for licenses in the “expired” status.

Expiration date Fees Total fee required

September 30, 2022 $90.00 License fee
$50.00 Reinstatement fee $140.00

September 30, 2020
(Renewal periods prior to 2018)

$180.00 License fee
$50.00 Reinstatement fee $230.00

Reactivation fee for licenses in the “inactive” status. $90.00

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.4(e), please list any information or activities such as courses taken or relevant 
activities that you have done during the period in which your license was expired or administratively 
suspended that you wish the Board to consider regarding your proficiency and knowledge in the area of 
practice you are seeking reinstatement or reactivation of your license.

Please note

If your New Jersey cosmetology license has been in an expired/inactive status over a period of five (5) 
years and you have an active cosmetology license in another state, please contact the Board where 
you are actively licensed and request that the certification of your license be sent directly to the New 
Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling.

If you do not hold an active license in another state you are required to successfully take and pass the 
Board’s written examination. However, if you fail to achieve a passing score of 75% on the second 
attempt, you are required to take a refresher course prior to taking the full Board examination including 
practical exam. Please be advised that you must pass both the written and practical examination for 
your license to be reinstated.

Attach additional sheet(s) of paper if necessary.



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs

New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
124 Halsey Street, 6th floor, P.O. Box 45003

Newark, New Jersey 07101
(973) 504-6400

Application for Reinstatement or Reactivation
You may not practice in the State of New Jersey until your license has been reinstated.

Check all that apply:  	 	 Cosmetologist-Hairstylist 	  	 Manicurist	  	 Skin Care Specialist	  
		  	 Barber	 	 Beautician	  	 Teacher	 	 Hair Braider

N.J. License No.:_________________________________________________	 Date:_________________________________

A nonrefundable reinstatement fee of $50.00, along with all past delinquent renewal fees, in the form of a check or money order made out to the 
State of New Jersey, must be submitted with this application for reinstatement (applicants should understand that if the application filing fee 
is paid with a personal check, and the check is returned by the bank due to insufficient funds, the next step in the reinstatement process will be  
delayed until the fee is paid).
The Division is precluded by law from disclosing to the public the place of residence of licensees or applicants, without their  
consent. However, you are required to provide an address that may be released to the public in our directories or in response to  
other requests (by putting a check in the appropriate box). If you provide your place of residence as your public address  
of record, we will assume that you have consented to have that address be disclosed. If you do not consent to the disclosure of  
your place of residence, you should provide an address of record other than your place of residence that may be released  
to the public. One of your addresses must include a street, city, state and ZIP code.

Information that you provide on this application may be subject to public disclosure as required by the Open Public Records Act (OPRA).

Please print clearly. You must answer all of the questions on this application.

Personal Information

	 Date of birth: ___________________________________
	  Month 	 Day 	 Year

	
1. 	 Name __________________________________________________________________________  (________________________)
			   	 Last name	 First name	 Middle initial	 Maiden name

2.	 Address

	 	 Home:_______________________________________________________________________________________________
	 Street	 City	 State 	 ZIP code	 County

		  _____________________________________ 	 ___________________________________
	 Telephone number (include area code)	 E-mail address

	  	 Mailing:_ ____________________________________________________________________________________________
	 Street or P.O. Box	 City	 State 	 ZIP code	 County

This application is only to be used by 
an individual who seeks to have her/his 
personal license reinstated.



3.	 Social Security Number

	 You must provide your Social Security number to the Board or Committee.  Failure to do so may result in denial of  
	 licensure or certification reinstatement. 

	 *Social Security Number:	  _ __________ -____________ -____________

	 *Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-24 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law,  N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.44e of the New Jersey Child Support 
Enforcement Law, Section 1128E(b)(2)A of the Social Security Act and 45 C.F.R. 60.7,60.8 and 60.9, the Board or Committee is 
required to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the Board or Committee is also obligated to provide 
your Social Security number to:

 	 a. 	 the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose of reviewing  
	 compliance  with State tax law and updating and correcting tax records; and

	 b. 	 the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request.

4. 	 Child Support (You must answer a, b, c and d.)

	 Please certify, under penalty of perjury, the following:

	 a.	 Do you currently have a child-support obligation?	 	 Yes	 	 No

		  (1)  If “Yes,” are you in arrears in payment of said obligation?	 	 Yes	 	 No

		  (2)  If “Yes,” does the arrearage match or exceed the total amount payable for the past six months?	 	 Yes	 	 No

	 b.	 Have you failed to provide any court-ordered health insurance coverage during the past six months?	 	 Yes	 	 No

	 c.	 Have you failed to respond to a subpoena relating to either a paternity or child-support proceeding?	 	 Yes	 	 No

	 d.	 Are you the subject of a child-support-related arrest warrant?	 	 Yes	 	 No

	 In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.44d, an answer of “Yes” to any of the questions a(1) through d may result in a denial of  
licensure or certification.  Furthermore, any false certification of the above may subject you to a penalty, including, but not limited 
to, immediate revocation or suspension of licensure.

  	 ____________________________________ 	 _ ___________________________________	 _________________________
  		  Applicant’s name (please print)	 Applicant’s signature	 Date



5.	 Have you since your last renewal changed your name?                       	 	 Yes	 	 No	  
	 If “Yes,” please submit with this application a copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.
6. 	 Have you ever been summoned; arrested; taken into custody; indicted; tried; charged with; admitted into pre-trial intervention  
	 (P.T.I.); or pled guilty to any violation of law, ordinance, felony, misdemeanor or disorderly persons offense, in New Jersey, any other  
	 state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?  (Parking or speeding violations need not be disclosed, but motor vehicle  
	 violations such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be.)	  	 Yes        	 No
7.	 Have you ever been convicted of any crime or offense under any circumstances?  This includes, but is not limited to, a plea of guilty, 

non vult, nolo contendere, no contest, or a finding of guilt by a judge or jury.	 	 Yes	 	 No
	 If “Yes,” provide a copy of the judgment of conviction and the release from parole or probation. Please provide a complete  

explanation. (Attach additional sheets of paper to this application.)
8.	 Do you currently hold, or have you ever held, a professional or occupational license or certificate of any kind in New Jersey, any other 

state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?	 	 Yes	 	 No
	 If “Yes,” for each license or certificate held, provide the date(s) held and the number(s). If the license was issued under a  
	 different name, please provide that name. 

	 ______________________	 ________________________ 	 ____________________________ 	 _____________________
	 Type of license or certificate	 Number	 State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate	 Date issued/expired

	 ______________________	 ________________________ 	 ____________________________ 	 _____________________
	 Type of license or certificate	 Number	 State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate	 Date issued/expired

	 ______________________	 ________________________ 	 ____________________________ 	 _____________________
	 Type of license or certificate	 Number	 State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate	 Date issued/expired

9.	 Have you ever been cited for disciplinary reasons or denied a professional or occupational license or certificate of any kind in New 
Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?	 	 Yes	 	 No

10.	 Have you ever had a professional or occupational license or certificate of any type suspended, revoked or surrendered in  
New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?	 	 Yes	 	 No

11.	 Has any action (including the assessment of fines or other penalties) ever been taken against your professional or occupational  
practice by any agency or certification board in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?              

		  	 Yes	 	 No
12.	 Have you ever been named as a defendant in any litigation related to the practice of cosmetology/hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, 

manicuring or skin care specialty or other professional or occupational practice in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia 
or in any other jurisdiction?	 	 Yes	 	 No

13.	 Are you aware of any investigation pending against a professional or occupational license or certificate issued to you by a professional  
or occupational board in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?

		  	 Yes	 	 No
14.	 Are there any criminal charges now pending against you in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other 

jurisdiction?	 	 Yes	 	 No
15.	 Have you ever been sanctioned by or is any action pending before any employer, association, society, or other professional or 

occupational group related to the practice of cosmetology/hairstyling, beauty culture, barbering, manicuring or skin care specialty 
or other professional or occupational practice in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?		
	 	 Yes	 	 No

If the answer to any of the above questions, numbers 9 through 15, is “Yes,” provide a complete explanation of the circumstances leading 
to the action, and any supporting documentation, on separate sheets of paper.

	 _ ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

	 Last name	 First name	 Middle initial



 

Affidavit

This affidavit is to be executed by the applicant before a notary public:

State of:___________________________________________________

County of:_________________________________________________

I,_ _______________________________________________________ , in making this application to the New Jersey State Board of 
Cosmetology and Hairstyling for licensure or certification under the provisions of Title 45 of the General Statutes of New Jersey and the 
Rules of the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, swear (or affirm) that I am the applicant and that all information 
provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any omissions, inaccuracies 
or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient to deny licensure or certification or to withhold renewal of or suspend or 
revoke a license or certificate issued by the Board.

I further swear (or affirm) that I have read N.J.S.A. 45:5B-1 et seq., together with the Rules and Regulations of the New Jersey State 
Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling, N.J.A.C. 13:28-1.1 et seq., and fully understand that in receiving licensure or certification from 
the Board, I bind myself to be governed by them.

Furthermore, I voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities 
for the purpose of verifying my qualifications for licensure or certification. I further authorize all institutions, employers,  
agencies and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release any information, files or records 
requested by the Board.

	 __________________________________________________
	 Signature of applicant

Sworn and subscribed to before me this__________

day of_ __________________________ ,  20______
	 Month

_________________________________________
	 Name of Notary Public (please print)

_________________________________________
	 Signature of Notary Public

} ss.

Affix seal here
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