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i.-iv. (No change.) 
3. Proof that the applicant has successfully passed the written 

examination offered by the FSMTB, NCBTMB, or NCCAOM; 
Recodify existing 3.-5. as 4.-6. (No change in text.) 
(c) (No change in text.) 
(d) For purposes of (c) above, one credit in a course taken in a college 

or university shall constitute 15 hours of course study. 
(e) Hours completed during one area of a course of study in massage 

and bodywork therapy shall not be counted towards completion of another 
area of that course. For example, one hour spent performing massage, 
bodywork, and somatic therapy that is completed as part of theory and 
practice pursuant to (c)3 above shall not be counted towards the 100 hours 
of clinical practice required by (c)5 above. 

(f) The Board shall issue a license to an applicant who qualifies 
pursuant to (a) above if the applicant is not disqualified for licensure 
pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 45:1-14 et seq. 

__________ 

(a) 

DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

Controlled Dangerous Substances 
Registration Fees 

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:45H-1.1 
Proposed: September 4, 2018, at 50 N.J.R. 1932(a). 
Adopted: December 18, 2018, by Paul R. Rodríguez, Acting 

Director, Division of Consumer Affairs. 
Filed: January 15, 2019, as R.2019 d.017, without change. 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 24:21-9. 

Effective Date: February 19, 2019. 
Expiration Date: August 4, 2022. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency Reponses: 
The official comment period ended November 3, 2018. The Division 

of Consumer Affairs (Division) received comments from the following 
individuals: 

1. Laura Phelan, Graduate Student, Lindsey Wilson College; and 
2. Melinda R. Martinson, Esq., General Counsel, Medical Society of 

New Jersey. 
1. COMMENT: One commenter expressed support for the proposed 

controlled dangerous substances (CDS) registration fees because it would 
increase the Prescription Monitoring Program’s (PMP) ability to process 
search requests by prescribers, professional licensing boards, and law 
enforcement. The commenter correlated the last increase for CDS 
registration fees dating back to l997 with the lack of coordination between 
the rise of prescription drug abuse since that time and the current burden 
of the Drug Control Unit. The commenter noted her understanding that 
the Drug Control Unit expects an increase in the expenses for 
technological system upgrades and expansion of the PMP’s ability, as well 
as the State’s ability, to interact with other states. The commenter supports 
the proposed increase in fees because the CDS registration fees support 
the Drug Control Unit, which is responsible for the Controlled Dangerous 
Substances Act (N.J.S.A. 24:21-l et seq.). The commenter appreciates that 
the Division of Consumer Affairs has discovered this need and determined 
that the costs associated with the increase will be small when measured to 
the benefits of the Drug Control Unit’s ability and the subsequent lives 
possibly saved. 

RESPONSE: The Director thanks the commenter for her support. 
2. COMMENT: One commenter objected to the proposed doubling of 

the controlled dangerous substance (CDS) registration and renewal fees 
as it pertains to physicians. The commenter stated that, although the 
State’s CDS fee has not increased in 20 years, New Jersey is one of the 
only states in the nation that has levied a CDS registration and renewal fee 
on physicians. The commenter questioned whether doubling the fee is 
necessary or appropriate at this time, given that New Jersey physicians 
have already been actively funding the Division’s CDS-related activities. 
The commenter noted that the proposed amendment to double fees is 
across all categories of registrants: manufacturers, distributors, and 

dispensers. The commenter contended that, according to information 
provided in the proposal, fees from manufacturers will yield only $27,600 
(69 manufacturers x $400.00); fees from distributors will yield only 
$13,000 (65 distributors x $200.00); and fees from other registrants, 
including physicians, will generate the lion’s share of funds; 
conservatively, fees from 20,000 physicians would raise $800,000 
(20,000 x $40.00). 

The commenter stated that she appreciates that the Drug Control Unit 
is experiencing an increased workload, including the need to supervise the 
destruction and disposal of CDS and the management of the Prescription 
Blank Program. The commenter, however, questioned whether doubling 
fees across the board was the best solution to raise funds. The commenter 
stated that physicians in New Jersey face the highest practice costs and 
cost of living in the nation. The commenter believes that, based on the 
financial strength of manufacturers and distributors, it would be more 
equitable for them to shoulder more of the financial burden of monitoring 
CDS. 

The commenter expressed support for upgrades to the Prescription 
Monitoring Program (PMP) to enhance interoperability, in particular with 
PMP programs in other states. The commenter also stated that she values 
the ability to monitor CDS drug dispensing to patients from pharmacies 
in other states. The commenter suggested that, given that the opioid crisis 
is national in scope, the Division continue to seek grant funding from the 
Federal government to further enhance New Jersey’s PMP. 

RESPONSE: The Director disagrees that the proposed fee increases are 
inequitable. Although as a group, the amended fees may appear to 
disproportionately impact dispensers and prescribers, the percentage fee 
increase for each category of registrants is the same. Moreover, the 
Director believes that the increase from $20.00 to $40.00 for an individual 
prescriber is relatively low and not overly burdensome. The Director also 
believes, that if the fee increases were inequitable, such inequity would 
not result in the Division lowering the fees for prescribers, but rather could 
result in the Division considering future adjustments to the fees to the 
other registrants. With respect to the commenter’s suggestion about 
seeking grant funding, the Director thanks the commenter for her 
suggestion and notes that the Division continues to pursue appropriate 
funding options. 

Federal Standards Statement 

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted 
amendments are not subject to any Federal standards or requirements. 

Full text of the adoption follows: 

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS; REGISTRATION 

13:45H-1.1 Registration fees 
(a) Manufacturers of controlled dangerous substances shall pay an 

annual fee of $400.00 at the time of application for registration or for 
renewal of registration. 

(b) Distributors and reverse distributors of controlled dangerous 
substances shall pay an annual fee of $200.00 at the time of application 
for registration or for renewal of registration. 

(c) Dispensers of controlled dangerous substances or practitioners 
registered to conduct research with controlled dangerous substances shall 
pay an annual fee of $40.00 at the time of application for registration or 
for renewal of registration. 

(d) Incorporated humane societies or licensed animal control facilities 
registered to purchase and administer sodium pentobarbital for the 
purpose of animal euthanasia shall pay an annual fee of $40.00 for 
registration or renewal of registration as a Dispenser in the category of 
hospital/clinic. 

(e)-(g) (No change.) 
__________ 


