STATE OF NEW JERSEY

New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

Helpful Information for Continuing Education Sponsors

Revised Attestation Format Effective 2/1/22





New Attestation Process

- Effective Feb. 1, 2022, the NJBPTE will accept continuing education applications from course sponsors for approval through an attestation process.
- This process will allow course sponsors to attest that the materials they are submitting with the application meet all the criteria identified in the regulations.
- This will allow for faster approvals for submitted courses. However, the applications
 will be subjected to an audit and failure to comply process that is outlined in
 subsequent slides and on the application.
- Courses specific to Dry Needling education will not be allowed to go through the attestation process but will be individually reviewed by the CE Committee of the NJBPTE to ensure compliance with the DN statute.
- For you to avoid losing the privilege to submit courses through the attestation process, it is imperative that you apply with all supporting documents that you have reviewed for accuracy prior to attesting and final submission.





When Should I Begin the Application Process?

- Applications for Continuing Education Approval can be downloaded from the Board's website at: www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/pt.
- Sponsors should submit an application for continuing education approval at least 45 business days in advance of the date you anticipate the course will be held.
- Although it is recommended that sponsors submit applications at least 45 business days in advance, the Board accepts applications submitted any time prior to the date the course is scheduled to be held.
- The Board does not accept applications of courses that have already been held.





Submitting Applications for Continuing Education Approval

- Sponsors must email applications for continuing education approval to <u>PhysicalTherapyCE@dca.njoag.gov</u>.
- Paper applications are not accepted.
- Applications and the supporting documentation for each application must be attached to your email via PDF. Please include the name of the sponsor and the name of the course or courses in the body of your email.
- If the supporting documents are too large for one email, the supporting documents should be provided in several emails.
- Applications submitted on subjects/topics that are not within the scope of practice of physical therapy will not be accepted.





Invoices and Payment

Once the Board office receives a completed application and its supporting documents from a sponsor via email, an invoice is emailed to the sponsor with 24-72 hours for the course or courses submitted in the email.

Applications are processed after the Board office receives payment of the invoice.

The invoice includes instructions on how to pay the invoice online with a credit card.

Sponsors can also choose to mail a check or money order made payable to the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners to:

New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor P.O. Box 45014 Newark, N.J. 07101

Sponsors submitting a large number of courses in the mail on a flash drive along with the payment for those courses, will be emailed the invoice number for the payment for future reference.





Supporting Documents Tips

- The Curriculum Vitae of the speaker or speakers must be provided with the application. Resumes are
 not accepted. The Curriculum Vitae MUST include the continuing professional development that the
 speaker completed within the last 5 years.
- The sign/in and sign out sheet must have the signature of the attendee next to the arrival time and again at the departure time.

Example:

Name of Attendee, License number, Arrival Time, Signature of attendee, Departure Time, Signature of Attendee

- The reference list must include a minimum of five (5) current peer reviewed publications within the last five years.
- The Certificate of Completion must include an area for the approval number.
- Continuing education courses, programs and seminars must be offered on a nondiscriminatory basis.
 There must be evidence that the course will be offered/advertised on a nondiscriminatory basis and
 inclusive of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. If the course is advertised on a
 sponsor's website, it must be accessible to the public and easily identified on the sponsor's website, such
 as an area clearly identified for continuing education. A user name and password cannot be required to
 access the information on the sponsor's website.





Dry Needling Course Submission

- Course sponsors should review the specific requirements for all Dry needling courses prior to submission of an application.
- To ensure compliance with the statute P.L. 2021,c.382 and to prevent licensees from taking courses/programs that will not qualify them to perform Dry Needling in New Jersey if they meet all other conditions. Dry Needling course providers must include the following items with their submission materials:
 - 1. Ensure that learning objectives cover the topics specifically outlined in the Dry Needling statute P.L. 2021,c.382.
 - 2. Continuing education credits requested must include specific breakdown of total continuing education hours into Academic/Theory and Practical/Hands-on.
 - 3. Course certificates must include specific breakdown of total continuing education hours into Academic/Theory and Practical/Hands-on.
 - 4. Course instructors, who are a licensed physical therapists must have five years of clinical experience in the performance of dry needling. If the course is taught by a physician licensed to practice medicine and surgery in New Jersey this standard is not required. The Curriculum Vitae submitted for the course instructors must reflect these standards set forth in the Dry Needling statute.





Approved Courses

- Approval letters are emailed to the sponsors within 25 business days from proof of payment of each course submission submitted with the attestation application.
- Approvals are for 2 licensure periods. (February 1, 2022 through January 31, 2026)
- If you received a letter with an expiration date for January 31, 2024, you will receive an updated approval letter with an expiration date of January 31, 2026. If you do not receive an updated approval letter by July 1, 2022, please email the Board at physicaltherapy@dca.njoag.gov.
- The Board's website is updated once a month.





Audit Process and Failure to Comply

Audit Process

- The Board will audit course application submissions.
- If the Board identifies any deficiencies, the sponsor will receive a letter from the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners (Board) by email (PhysicalTherapyCE@dca.lps.state.nj.us) outlining the identified deficiencies. The Board will also provide the sponsor with a non-attestation application.

Suspension of Attestation process

- If deficiencies are identified, the sponsor will be placed on a three month suspension from the attestation process. The Board will not accept submissions of the attestation application from that sponsor during the suspension period. The sponsor will need to submit all courses within the suspension period on a non-attestation application. The Board will review each non-attestation application along with the supporting documents to ensure compliance with the requirements for approval. If the sponsor fails to correct all deficiencies, the suspension of the attestation process will be extended for one year.
- Receiving board approval under the non-attestation application/process may be delayed should more deficiencies exists.
- The Board will not rescind an approval if deficiencies are identified during the audit process.





Requesting the Status of a Pending Continuing Education Application

To submit a request for the status of a pending continuing education application, the sponsor will need to email PhysicalTherapyCE@dca.njoag.gov the following information:

- The name of the sponsor
- The name of the course
- The invoice number

The subject line of the email must indicate that the sponsor is submitting a **Status Request**.





Regulation N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.6

www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-39A-State-Board-of-Physical-Therapy-Examiners.pdf

13:39A-9.6 RESPONSIBILITIES OF CONTINUING EDUCATION AND COMPETENCY PROVIDERS

- a) All providers of continuing education and competency not included in N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.3(b) shall
- 1) At least 45 business days prior to the date of the course, program or seminar, submit the following for each course, program or seminar offered for evaluation by the Board
 - i) A detailed descriptive outline of course content, the estimated starting and ending time of the course and any break time provided during the course, program or seminar;
 - ii) The curriculum vitae of each instructor that indicates the lecturer has met the requirements of (b) below;
 - iii) Course objectives that are both behavioral objectives, which are learning outcomes stated in terms that indicate what the student will be able to do or demonstrate after the course, and measurable objectives, which are learning outcomes indicating the level of the student's performance; and
 - iv) A bibliography supporting the content of the course, program or seminar that includes at least five peerreviewed journal articles published within the last five years
- 2) Obtain Board approval prior to representing that any course, program or seminar fulfills the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.1
- 3) Monitor the attendance at each approved course, program or seminar and furnish to each enrollee a verification of attendance, which shall include at least the following information
 - i)The title, date and location of the course, program or seminar offering;
 - ii) The name and license number of the attendee:
 - iii) The number of credits awarded;
 - iv) The name and signature of the sponsor and the seal of the organization





Regulation N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.6

www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-39A-State-Board-of-Physical-Therapy-Examiners.pdf Continued from Previous Slide

- 4) Maintain attendance sheets, which include the time when a licensee arrives at and leaves the course, program or seminar with the licensee's signature next to each time entry
- 5) Evaluate course offerings. Evaluations shall be solicited from both the attendees and the instructors; and
- 6) Submit a fee pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:39A-1.3 for each submission of a new course, program or seminar reviewed by the Board during the biennial licensing period
- b) In order to be qualified to instruct a continuing education course, an instructor shall
- 1) If licensure is required to practice his or her profession, hold a current license to practice;
- 2) Maintain a list of continuing education coursework completed and taught by the instructor for the last five years; and
- 3) Have:
 - i) Been employed in the topic area of the course within the past five years;
 - ii) Published an article for peer reviewed journals in the topic area of the course within the past five years; or
 - iii) Written a chapter for academic textbooks in the topic area of the course within the past five years
- > Subchapter 9 Continuing Education and Competency begins on page 48 of the regulations.
- Please review entire subchapter





Address and Email Address

Mailing Address:

New Jersey Board of Physical Therapy Examiners P.O. Box 45014 Newark, NJ 07101

Physical Address:

New Jersey Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor Newark, NJ 07102



